Wilmington Yoga
(910) 350-0234

5329 Oleander Drive
Suite 200
Wilmington, NC 28403

News & Blog

What Are Chakras?

Often in yoga classes, students will hear the instructor talk about chakras. While some yogis may understand what the teacher is talking about, it might sound like a foreign language to others. So what is a chakra?

A chakra is a vital energy center that resides in our bodies, that is not detectable by most modern medicine means. (1) The name is derived from the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “turning.”

There are seven centers or “channels” in the body which energy flows through. When one of the seven channels is blocked and energy cannot flow, illness and/or injury can result. It is thought that if one can balance their chakras, a healthy life will follow.

Here is a brief introduction and summary of the seven chakras…

1. Root or Base Chakra: Also known as Muladhara, it represents one’s foundation and feeling of being grounded. The desires to survive and persevere are found in this chakra. Emotionally, if the root chakra is unbalanced, one might experience stress, anxiousness and restlessness. Physical symptoms such as joint pain, lower backaches, obesity, constipation, anorexia and poor immune system function can also occur.

Muladhara is located at the base of the spine.

2. Sacral or Naval Chakra: Also known as Svadhisthana, it represents one’s connection to and ability to accept others and experience new things. How an individual behaves in relationships and one’s creative nature can be found here. An imbalance in the sacral chakra can lead to feelings of jealousy, betrayal and a loss of control. Physically, an imbalance can lead to uterine or bladder problems, a lack of flexibility, sciatica troubles, low back pain and problems with large intestines.

Svadhisthana is located in the lower abdomen.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra: Also known as Manipura, represents one’s ability to feel confident and in control of one’s life. Honoring oneself lies here and a healthy solar plexus chakra supports emotional well-being, intellectual understanding and self-confidence. An imbalance in this chakra can cause emotional turmoil such as fear of rejection, sensitivity to criticism, the need to control others, bad tempers, aloofness and low self-esteem. Physically, a block of this chakra may lead to diabetes, gallstones, nervousness, low energy, muscle cramps, stomach distress and liver disorders.

Manipura is located in the upper abdomen.

4. Heart Chakra: Also known as Anahata, represents one’s ability to love. When energy is free flowing, one is open to forgiveness and one’s immune system is in good health. A balanced heart chakra allows self-love and healing. An imbalance in this chakra can lead to resentment, anger, feelings of despair and guilt. Symptoms such as high blood pressure, breathing difficulties, circulation problems, chest pains and tension between the shoulders can result when this chakra is out of tune.

Anahata is located in the center of the chest above the heart.

5. Throat Chakra: Also known as Vissudha, represents one’s ability to communicate. It is within this chakra that one finds willpower, choice and the right to speak one’s mind. An imbalance in this chakra means that one will have a hard time communicating. One’s voice will be weak and the ability to empower oneself will be lost. An imbalance in the throat chakra can also lead to physical symptoms such as fever, ear infections, thyroid problems, throat, ears, voice, neck, cervical spine and hypothalamus disorders and esophagus problems.

Vissudha is located in the throat.

6. Third Eye Chakra: Also known as Ajna, represents one’s ability to focus and see the bigger picture. A balanced third eye allows one to perceive reflection accurately. An imbalanced third eye can cause one to be delusional, indifferent and worrisome and can lead to headaches, eye problems and neurological symptoms.

Ajna is located in the forehead between the eyes.

7. Crown Chakra: Also known as Sahasrara, represents one’s ability to be connected spiritually. In this chakra one finds the will to live in the present and in harmony with one’s own will. A blocked crown chakra can lead to confusion, depression and lack of inspiration. Physically, migraines, brain tumors, amnesia, nervous system and muscular system disorders, mental issues and skin disorders can manifest themselves if this chakra is imbalanced.

Sahasrara is located at the top of the head.

[button url=”https://wilmingtonyogacenter.com/category/yoga-resources/” target=”_self” size=”small” ]Click here to learn more![/button]


(1) http://www.2012-spiritual-growth-prophecies.com/chakra-symbols.html



Website by Tayloe/Gray TG Icon Logo